2022 CH-CH Graduation Award Winners

Posted by Salma Selim on 6/24/22 1:56 PM

On Friday, June 3rd, the Chapel Hill-Chauncy Hall School community gathered for the 2022 Baccalaureate Ceremony to celebrate the Class of 2022 accomplishments and completion of high school.

Blog Image for Homepage

Beyond the recognition of the graduating class, the Baccalaureate also presented the opportunity to hear from faculty and student speakers, as selected by the Chapel Hill-Chauncy Hall Class of 2022. Moreover, Junior Awards, Certificates of Distinction, Senior Departmental Prizes, Senior Awards, and Faculty Prizes were presented.

See a full photo gallery of the 2022 Baccalaureate Awards here.

Congratulations to the CH-CH Class of 2022 and the following award recipients:


Junior Awards:

Rensselaer Medal - Jaehong K. '23

Given to a junior who demonstrates potential for success in a challenging academic setting, this prize is awarded for excellence in advanced mathematics and science, as well as for significant participation in extracurricular activities.


Nancy S. Emery Award - Melissa T. '23

Established in 1998 in memory of Nancy Spooner Emery, this award is given to a member of the junior class whose moral character has made a positive difference in the lives of others in the school community.


Harvard Book Prize - Layla M. '23

This prize honors an outstanding student in the rising senior class who combines excellence in scholarship with achievement in other fields.


Certificates of Distinction

Math and Science: Stephanie Fernandez '22

Arts: Nat Dalton '22, Ozmhara Guzman '22, Ace Nunes '22, Devon West '22, Rachel Yu '22


Senior Departmental Prizes:

The English Prize - Kaela Krieger '22

Acknowledges a senior who has both demonstrated consistent interest and achieved success in all areas of the subject.


The Donald Welch Social Studies Prize - Ethan Rosen '22

Named in 2001 in order to honor Donald Welch, teacher of social studies for twenty-eight years, and is awarded to a senior who has both completed excellent work in social studies and demonstrated genuine interest in the field.


The Allen American Studies Prize - Oliver Wolk '22

Given by the Allen family in memory of Neal Woodside Allen, grandfather of David Allen ’93 and Nicholas Allen ’95, is awarded to a senior for outstanding achievement and genuine interest in United States history, government, and politics.


The Bishins-Strachman Economics Prize - Ben Chin '22

Established by Andrew A. Bishins ’89 and Daniel A. Strachman ’89 and is awarded to the senior who has taken economics most to heart as evidenced by involvement in class discussion, as well as curiosity about and enthusiasm for current events.


The Farnsworth Mathematics Prize - Nicholas Armstrong '22

Awarded in the name of Ray D. Farnsworth, Head of Chapel Hill School from 1947-1961, to a senior who has completed excellent work in mathematics while consistently demonstrating a deep and genuine interest in the field.


The Kurt Science Prize - Cian Poe-Sheehy '22

Named for Franklin T. Kurt, goes to a senior who has not only produced excellent work but also demonstrated a deep and genuine interest in the field of science.


The Lewis C. Clapp Science Prize - A.J. Popolow '22

Established in 2001 in the name of Lewis Clapp, Chauncy Hall Class of 1954, and is awarded to a senior with a keen interest in science, who, while also demonstrating kindness and concern for others, is curious to learn and enjoys being challenged.


The Performing Arts Prize - Devon West '22

Presented to the senior whose creativity, artistic ability, and outstanding work in the performing arts merit special recognition.


The Visual Arts Prize - Ace Nunes '22

Goes to the member of the graduating class whose creativity, artistic ability, and outstanding work in the visual arts merit special recognition.


The José Rafael Arboleda Sportsmanship and Sportswomanship Awards - Adi O.-G. '23 and Ruth G. '23

Established by family and friends in memory of José Rafael Arboleda, Class of 1978, recognizes students who have shown the highest degree of citizenship in athletic endeavors.


Senior Awards

Siri Akal Singh Khalsa Award - Ozmhara Guzman '22

Given in the name of Dr. Siri Akal Singh Khalsa, Head of School at Chapel Hill-Chauncy Hall from 2002-2009, this award is presented to a graduating senior who exemplifies social consciousness, demonstrating outstanding courage, respect, and kindness during his or her development as a valued member of our school and the community.


MIT Prize - Stephanie Fernandez '22

Awarded to a senior who has realized high academic achievement, this prize recognizes the balancing of a challenging course load and the application of technology in the pursuit of excellence. 


Faculty Prizes - Nate Edwards-Roseney '22, Kam Kerr '22, Harry Murphy '22, Rachel Yu '22

These prizes are awarded to members of the senior class who have been outstanding citizens, contributing significantly to the general well-being or spirit of the school.


School Spirit Award - Oliver Wolk '22

This prize recognizes the senior who has consistently demonstrated a positive attitude toward the school.


Headmaster’s Prize - Mia Cannistraro '22, Ian Wolk '22

The Headmaster’s Prize honors the senior who has shown the most improvement.


Worcester Prize - Lulu Magee '22

Established in memory of Joseph Worcester, who served for many years on the Board of Trustees of Chapel Hill School, this prize is awarded annually to the senior with a high academic record who has most consistently displayed leadership, integrity, personal humility, and service to the school.


Valedictorian: Stephanie Fernandez '22

Salutatorian: Ethan Rosen '22

CH-CH Society Prize: Jacquie Macdonald


New call-to-action